Recipes! – 1

This is a translation of an article I wrote in French here. Traduction en français ici.

To read more recipes we love, click here!

“But, if you’re vegan, what do you eat?”: if you’re not a vegan, you probably have asked yourself this question before. If you are, I bet someone has asked it to you – and more than once. I’ve been a vegetarian for 6 months and a vegan for 2 weeks. I’ll probably write on little something on that, but it’s not the topic here. With ChouetteRouge and BougieVege, we have a pad on which we share our vegan recipes. When I say we, it was theirs originally but they kindly shared it with me 😀 This pad helps me a lot to transition to veganism. Plus, we feel less alone and it gives loads of ideas! So here are some recipes compiled in a series of articles! We hope it will make you hungry and give you some ideas!

IMG_20170324_123951.jpg

1. Mixed salad

A great dish for all summer!

Ingredients: courgettes, tabbouleh, grapefruit, pine nut, lemon, olive oil. I used ready-to-go tabbouleh but if you can make your own I think it we be even better 😉

Grate the courgettes in the center of the plates, doing large vertical slivers. Add some olive oil. Chop the grapefruit in half segments. Add it to the plates. Put the tabbouleh all around. Sprinkle with pine nut and lemon. There you go!

19619737_10213429742605926_577249736_o.jpg

2. Dal – trying it is adopting it!

Recipe found here: http://www.alice-esmeralda.fr/2016/10/recette-de-dahl-dal-lentilles-corail.html

This dish is absolutely perfect. It’s easy to cool and tastes great! Even our non-veg‘ cook it often now.

I also made a slightly different version, because I had some vegetables left to eat. I don’t really know the cooking times though, I would say about an hour but I do everything at the same time…
– Brown an onion and two or three shallots in some oil with a garlic clove (cut as you like depending on whether you like garlic or not).
– Add two dices courgettes and brown.
– Separately, cook some lentils in water.
– Add coconut milk and curry in the pan – you’ll need an entire can of coconut milk, but pour it little by little.
– Add three button mushrooms sliced in slivers in the pan, and the rest of the coconut milk.
– Drain the water from the lentils, add them to the pan and let them finish cooking in it.
– Let it bake until the lentils are cooked and there’s no more water.

19402733_10213346482204468_52907443_o.jpg

3. Pancakes – fluffy and delicious!

Recipe found here: http://www.theedgyveg.com/2016/04/18/banana-pancakes-vegan-recipe/

Since ChouetteRouge gave us this recipe, I make some once or twice a week! They’re just amazing! Careful, the pan must be really hot!

Two small variations that I love:

  • Chocolate squares: take a chocolate stick. Cut the quantity you need (dosage is up to you!). Add the squares to the dough before cooking. Bake normally.
  • Raspberry: Buy raspberries (I had frozen ones but fresh is best). Spread some dough in the pan. Cut the raspberries in small pieces. Spread some more dough to cover up the raspberries. Turn over normally.

 

Every picture in this article is my own food! 😀

2 thoughts on “Recipes! – 1

Leave a comment